Launch of the new IBC social project: "Scholarship Program“

2012 was marked in the IBC history by the launch of the new social project – the Scholarship Program. The project supervised by the Law, Banking and Finance Working Committee was designed to support promising students with disabilities and from low-income families. Between 2012 and 2021 in total 213 students continued their studies thanks to the IBC financial support.

The 15th Annual General Meeting, held on May 31 in Portoroz – one of the most picturesque places on the Adriatic coast of Slovenia, was devoted to the topic of “Energy security and new opportunities for natural gas”.

The event was hosted by Comita d.d., a Slovenian company, and co-sponsored by IFC Metropol, Bank Renaissance Capital, Sakhalin Energy, Gazprombank and Srbijagas.

The Minister of Infrastructure and Spatial Planning Mr. Zvonko Černič and the Head of the Representation of the European Commission in Slovenia Mrs. Nataša Goršhek-Mencin took part in the opening ceremony of the Plenary session.

The International Conference on “Energy Security and New Opportunities for Natural Gas” was chaired by Mr. Lincoln Payton, Member of the Executive Committee of BNP Paribas. The conference was opened by Dr. A.B. Miller, IBC President, Chairman of the Management Committee of Gazprom. In his speech he analyzed current trends in the global gas sector development and presented his vision of the new opportunities for natural gas. Ms. T. Mitrova, Head of the Energy Center “Global Energy” at the “Skolkovo” Moscow School of Management and Mr. F. Beckenbauer, Honorary President of FC Bayern Munich participated in the conference Along with the heads of the leading energy companies.

One of the important decisions made at the Presiding Committee meeting in Portoroz was to transfer the chairmanship of the “Human Resources, Education and Science” Working Committee (from 2019 “Human Resources” Working Committee) from Mr. J. Moepert, President of Wintershall Holding GmbH, who chaired the committee from 2007 to 2012, to one of the co-chairs – Dr. E.B. Kasyan, Head of Human Resources Management Department, Gazprom. Dr. Kasyan holds the position to this day. The Committee is co-chaired by Mrs. Petra Angstmann, Vice President of Wintershall Dea AG, and Mr. Marcel Kramer, President of the Energy Delta Institute.